Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Could It Really Be?

Could it really be....

...that April has come and is almost gone already?

What happened to this month? I love Aprils usually. This one has gotten away from me, though.

I've had too much work and too little rest and free time. That's my problem.

Not much new happens here as rule, but this month we got a new dog, and Paul has done his medical regimen in preparation for trying to kill off all those nasty mutant thyroid cancer cells roaming thru his body. We're more than half way there now.

Yesterday (is this Tuesday? I've lost track) he went to the Nuclear Medicine Lab so they could give him a pill. This is called "thryoid uptake" - it's something that will make all the thyroid cells show up on the scan.

Today (Tuesday) he went up to the hospital once again and got the "thyroid scan." I didn't go with him either day as I had too much work to do, but he was fine by himself. Today he was supposed to be there at 9 (same as yesterday) a.m. He left here at 7 a.m. for Gloucester (a fishing town about 25 miles from here) to get some rope and he was back here by 8:30, he jumped into the shower and was out of the house, and up at the hospital, in the Nuclear Medicine lab, at 9 a.m. sharp for his appointment.

He waited there after checking in.

He watched doctors and techs come and go...talking, playing games with one another, etc...

And he waited...

10 O'clock came and went.

People came in and left all around him...

by 5 minutes to 11, a doctor (or tech) came out and wondered who he was (!!!!!).

When he gave his name, he very quietly ushered Paul into the scanning room and politely did his scan... no apologies for making hm wait 2 hours, or nuttin!

It's a good thing I wasn't with him or they would now be in possession of a good chunk of my white matter... and I can't really afford to lose any more chunks of it!

It only took them 30 mins. to do the scan and he was home by 11:35.

So his next step is to skip Wednesday, and on Thursday at 1 p.m. he has to be back there to take "the big pill" which contains the radioactive iodine that will seek out and destroy any and all (hopefully) errant thyroid cancer cells in his body.

I pray it finds them all and knocks them dead!

For 2 days, or so, he will be "radioactive" and can't get near anyone or any pet... he can't let any body fluids leak out or touch anything either... it's like he will be quarantined at home.. and this is right when a certain wifey is having a birthday, so I guess there will be no birthday hugs or kisses! ;-(

By Saturday, he can stop this infernal low-iodine diet, and resume taking his thyroid replacement medication again. And, hopefully, he will be feeling back to his old self one day soon. He's tired and cold most of the time lately, and all this excitement about tests, and dogs, hasn't exactly helped the matter. But he's plugging along and getting things done.

"Ya do what ya have ta doo!"

I've just been typing my fingers to nubs these last several months. But I'm not complaining (even though it may sound like that to some folks)... I'm just thankful I have my job when so many around me don't.

It's really and truly spring here now. The colors outside are so pretty..lots of lime green and yellows, and the pale, pale pinks of the magnolia trees that are just about to drop their blossoms now.

Where did this spring go? The forsythia are almost over, too.

I need a vacation - which I WILL be getting within a month's time. I am not making any plans for my one week off - just going to do whatever hits me as a good idea after I get up each day - IF I get up each day. I can't imagine what it would be like to stay abed of an entire morning. I expect I won't find out, either - not with two eager collie dogs pounding on my door each morning!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I just finished a book that I would highly recommend to anyone who likes a historical novel set in early Cape Cod, Massachusetts... it's called "The Widow's War" by Sally Gunning. My friend, Mary, loaned it to me after she'd read it, and I just loved it. I usually read very slowly, but this one was like eating a bowl of salted cashews...I just couldn't get enough of it, and was very sad to see it end.

That's it for today. Every muscle in my almost 58 year-old body is screaching with aches and pains right about now, so I'd better stop and rest up, before it's time to put on my chef's hat and whip up one of my extra special low-iodine delights for Paul for supper! Only 4 more of them to make, too! Then it's back to normal food, and ice cream for him for desserts!

(BTW, I've requested chocolate cake wth chocolate frosting for my birthday, which I expect will happen this Sunday. That's all I've asked for... that's all I want, and if anyone wants to come by and share it with me, please do - but you'll have to wait in line because I may hog most of the cake myself - it's been over a year since I've had any!)

Cheers,

Bex

4:26 pm - 25 April 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2