Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

26 Years Ago Today

Twenty Six Years Ago Today...

My Dad, Reese, passed on this day in 1978, and I will never forget it. It was sudden - not expected, though he was 76. We just never thought he'd die! Isn't that always the way with parents? It seems they should be there always for us.

This picture (if you can see it) shows my Dad, sitting in the chair to the right of me in the red swimsuit - taken maybe around 1956 or so. We used to go camping every summer for 2 glorious weeks - at White Lake State Park in New Hampshire. My Mum (standing) would organize the trip. My Nana (also sitting, 2nd from left) came up that year with us, and then there's my younger brother, Chuck, at the far left in the picture. We had so darn much fun during those 2 weeks each year. It seemed to go on forever - we hated to come home.

White Lake State Park

Now Mum has been gone for almost 3 years, Nana has been gone since 1976, and Daddy for 26 years today. It was the saddest day of my life - I cried for a week and my eyes broke out in awful itching so I could hardly see out of them. He was the most wonderfully sweet Dad in the world. I miss him so much still.

~ ~ ~ ~

Spring should be along here soon; Winter is winding down (I hope!). Today, we have sun and birds and lovely mild temperatures.

I think I'll just spend today thinking about Daddy.

Cheers.

Bex

9:01 am - 20 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2