Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dis and Dat

Dis and Dat

Just a short little entry today. I've been working (at typing) upstairs most of the day, and in between typing doing laundry, taking dogs out, hefting Jazzy up the stairs on the ice, etc. etc. So I'm really not into typing for fun. But I had to come down here and go on-line (on webtv) to look up a word - would you believe I am not 100% sure how to spell the word "Al Qaida" or is it "Al Quaida"? It's not in any of my reference books upstairs. My guess is the first spelling, without the "u" after the Q. We'll see. Good old Google will get me the answer.

(Addendum: I just looked it up - wow, I was wrong, it's spelled "Al-Qa'ida" - somehow I think a lot of writers leave off the apostrophe, though. But I'll use the correct spelling of it in my report.)

(Addendum #2: Shoot, I found more sites that spelled it "al-Qaeda" - so don't everyone write to me saying I was wrong... actually there were some sites also that spelled it the way I had it, "al Qaida", too, so now I'm all confused. I'm picking #2 and sticking with it, "al-Qaeda" it is.)

Yesterday I went to our office Christmas party. It was a "luncheon" at a local restaurant that we all love in the next town north of us. It was nice...just 8 of us (it's a small company) and we all had a nice visit and gab-fest with one another. Since we all work from home, except two women who run the office, we only see those two women on a regular basis as we drop off and pick up work...so it's nice to see the other ladies now and then at these get togethers.

We do a "Yankee Swop" of presents too, which is not really my cuppa, but they all seem to like it. The only trouble with it is that there is a $10 per gift limit, and what on earth can you find these days for $10, I ask you?

Not too much!

(Don't tell anyone, but I spent $20 on the gift I brought but they were marked 50% off at Kohl's and I just loved them - ceramic snowmen, mostly in blues and greens, that you put a small candle in, with star-shaped holes for the candlelight to shine out thru on the body..there were two of them, one thin snowman and one big round one...they were so adorable, and I normally don't like "adorable" things at all.)

Anyway, I ended up with a wooden plaque with a snowman painted on it that says "Welcome Friends" which I plan to attach to the back porch by the door (which is really on the front left hand side of the house - see the picture at the bottom of the page, that's the "back" door).

So, I still need to go look up that nasty word, Al Qaida, or however it's spelled... so I'll be seeing you again soon.

The pictures on this page I took yesterday showing the latest state of affairs here in the New England version of the north pole...

(I change the pictures at the top, and sometimes the bottom, regularly, so if you are reading this entry in the future, the picture may have changed again.)

Back to work - carry on!

Cheers,

Bex

1:38 pm - 11 December 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2