Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Going For Twenty

Going for Twenty...


Yesterday, on May the 10th, Paul and I celebrated our

19th Wedding Anniversary.

I can't believe it's been that long!

This is my second marriage and Paul's first. If all goes well, it will be our last. So far, things are going well. I consider it a good day when Paul remembers an occasion and gives me a card - but especially an anniversary card. I did not have to remind him it was coming up, either. In fact, I'd forgotten all about it until yesterday morning when my friend, Sandy, sent me a Happy Anniversary Email Card!

I had already bought Paul a romantic type card months ago, so I had it upstairs all ready to give to him. But I never expected that he would remember it all on his own.

He was gone lobstering when I got up yesterday, so I went about my day (I'm on vacation right now) and worked outside in the garden a lot, mowed all three lawn areas and got completely wasted. I then settled in to my book late in the afternoon (I'm reading Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka). Paul came home and walked right up to me and handed me a big blue envelope with The Card in it. I was dumbfounded!


Happy Anniversary to My Wife

From the guy who seldom (word crossed out to read "never") shows it but who knows his wife's a whiz -

Who doesn't often say she's sweet but always thinks she is!

Who may not always mention that he just can't live without her -

But hopes she knows that all the time he's simply WILD about her!

Love, Paul

He always gives me funny big cards like this... Gawd, I love him!

But the funniest part of all?

As I was lying in my bed, under the goose-down duvet, all comfy and cosy, trying to decide when to get up (ahhh! isn't leisure grand?) I glanced over to the top of a big oak dresser near the bed, and on it was a bunch of older cards I'd received from Paul, just waiting to be either thrown out or saved, and there on the end was last year's anniversary card from him - it was the very SAME card he gave me this year!

He's gone out lobstering already today, but I'll tell him about it when he returns later today. He'll get a kick out of that one!

Just goes to show you how incredibly predictable and reliable that man is... he even keeps the same taste in cards from year to year. That's a good thing, for me.

So today is the first day of our 20th year of married life together. It's been a ride, sometimes a high ride, and sometimes a low ride, but more often than not a nice middle-of-the-road ride thru life together. I first fell in love with this man when I was 14 years old. Many, many years passed before we said "I will" - in fact, one marriage and 24 years to be exact. But in the end, I find myself married to the man whom I consider to be a one in a bazillion gentle-man. There is no one like him on earth - at least that I've ever met before.

So even though he will never read this (he's one of the few souls in this country who has no clue or inclination to deal with the World Wide Web), I wanted to say here, for all the world to see, that

I LOVE YOU PAUL!

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, HONEY!

And now for the next 20 years, we'll see what life will bring!

Cheers,

Bex

7:52 am - 11 May 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2