Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthday to my Honey

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY HONEY

I couldn't let today pass here without a mention to the world that 59 years ago today, my darling Paul was born.

I sit here in Salem, silently feeling especially thankful today for many things.

First and foremost, on this anniversary of Paul's birth, I am thankful for him in my life.

I went down many, many roads in my life. Some roads were smooth, but most were full of potholes. It was a bumpy ride and I never, in my wildest dreams, imagined, when I first fell head over heels for Paul Crowell in 1962, that all these years later, we would be spending a quiet, stormy day at home, in Crow Cottage, as husband and wife, like we are today.

Secondly, I am thankful for his parents. They are the cream-cheese frosting on the cake for me. I couldn't have special-ordered two nicer and lovelier people to be related to. But most of all, today especially, two days after Hurricane Charley swept thru Punta Gorda, Florida, I am especially thankful. Because Paul's folks just this past April, sold their little mobile home in one of those parks that now look like matchsticks that we are seeing on the news each night. Their old home there is probably gone, but it's not theirs, and they are living up here now full time since April, and for that I am grateful.

I am also thankful for the break in the heat that has just happened here. For the first time in a week, I turned off our two over-worked air-conditioners and let in some lovely REAL air from the outside. We haven't seen the sun yet, but I'll take cloudy and overcast, even rain, as long as the heat is gone! At least for today.

For Paul's birthday dinner tonight, I am preparing a steak, and will use my George Foreman indoor grill for the steak, which is a first for me. I've only cooked chicken in it before, so wish me luck!

I've got two small "homemade" (at the bakery) pies, one apple and one crumble-topped blueberry & apple, for him tonight, with some Breyers French Vanilla ice cream to top off the dinner.

Nothing fancy. Just plain old food, but it's the way he likes it.

He got today off. It's always a nice treat when a person can have his or her birthday off from work. It wasn't planned, and he would never have stayed home, had Charley not moved up from the south to make the seas here too choppy for him and his small lobster boat, "Bollocks!". But I am thankful that he got to sleep late (6 a.m. rather than 4:30!) today, and that he's had the chance to read, and watch the Red Sox lose, most of the day. Just what he loves to do (only a Red Sox win would have made it a tad better!).

It's just been a quiet day here at Crow Cottage, but a special one.

Happy Birthday, dear Paul.

I know you'll never read this, since you don't "do" the computers, webtv, or the internet at all... but I'll say it all the same.

I love you.

I am so lucky to be your other half.

And to all you friends out there, if there's any pie and ice cream left over, the dogs get it...sorry! I didn't get enough for you!

Cheers!

Bex

5:00 pm - 15 August 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2