Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving

I probably won't be back in here until after Thanksgiving, so I just wanted to wish you all a good day, those of you who celebrate this holiday. And for those of you who do not, well, have a nice Thursday!

For those of you who have lost a loved one, or are going thru some unhappiness in your life, I will put in a little prayer for you when I say grace at the table.

I have Friday off, as well. That doesn't always happen at my job, but this year, the main doctors' offices where we get our work from are closed on Friday, so we might as well be closed, too. Fine with me! I could really use a free day right about now.

As for our Thanksgiving day preparations, I have all I need here. I don't have to rush to the store tomorrow night for last minute purchases, like I usually do. I'm sharing the cooking this year (as I did last year) with Paul's Mom. She likes to contribute, so she's bringing two pies, the apple cider, a green bean dish, and a big butternut squash that I will cook here once they bring it over.

She was going to make the turkey, too, but then she got a bug and was "out sick from life" for about 10 days, and there was a period when we weren't sure she or Dad would make it over here for Thanksgiving. But on Sunday morning she called me and pronounced herself well enough to come visiting on Thursday. So I got my own turkey (about a 13 pounder) and he is sitting in the fridge now trying to thaw the heck out. He's a butterball, and you can't go wrong with one of those, right?

I'll make the mashed potatoes, the butternut squash when it gets here, the onions, the stuffing, and I've already made the cranberry relish - it's in the fridge now all ready. I use all canned fruits - including whole berry cranberry sauce, and a can each of fruit cocktail, mandarin oranges, papaya, and some chopped walnuts. It should be good by Thursday.

The stuffing I'm experimenting with this year. Not using the Pepperige Farm herbed stuffing this year. I bought two store-baked loaves of rosemary olive oil bread and will toast and cube up those for the stuffing. I also will add some sauteed onions, celery, butter, and apple along with the usual herbs and spices. I'll bake it separate from the bird as I don't like all that fat leaked into my stuffing. I saw on the food network that they use lemons and garlic to stuff inside the turkey, and herbed butter stuffed underneath the top skin - that looked interesting too, I may try that.

No two Thanksgivings ever turn out the same for me. I've been making these dinners for years now here at home, and every year something different happens. I hope it all goes smoothly. I hope the stove keeps working, and that the garbage disposal doesn't decide to clog up (like it did one Thanksgiving morning while I was cooking). No mechanical failures would be nice. And no power faiures either, like we had twice the other day - while I was working on the computer! Argggh!

Otherwise, I'll see you all on the other side of Thanksgiving. I hope yours is pleasant - no family bickering, you hear? (easy for me to say - my Mom is gone and she used to give us all hell on Thanksgivings...) Play nice. Talk to you later.

Cheers,

Bex

8:18 pm - 21 November 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2