Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthday, \"Holly\"

Happy Birthday, Holly (not her real name, but close).

Since I was a wee tiny tot (aged 5 or so) I had a friend at school named Holly. She and I were buddies all thru grade school, and then into junior high, but in high school, she kind of went her way (the smart crowd) and I kind of went my way (the less-smart crowd), but I always really liked her a lot. I can remember being at school (grammar) and wishing she would ask me to come play with her after school. Sometimes she did, in fact, there were several years that we were best friends. We were both blondes, and looked a lot like sisters. But the older we got, the more the differences set in.

Today is Holly's birthday. I have always remembered it - even as a little kid - October the 4th. So if you ever stumble onto this journal, Holly, wherever you are, know that each year on this day, I always say a silent Happy Birthday to you.

I haven't seen her since high school (1966). I heard she became a French teacher and may even have taught school up in Canada at one point. My mother sent me a newspaper cutting of her marriage intentions back in the early 1970's, just after I had gotten hitched too. But I've never run into her again, and always wished I had. I've had dreams about being friends with her over the years, too. Weird how one person can affect you throughout your whole life like that.

Holly was one of 6 children. Their family had money, too. At least a lot more than ours had. She lived in a mansion in Marblehead, across the street from Abbott Hall, where the painting "The Spirit of '76" hangs.



Abbott Hall rising high above Old Towne, Marblehead

When I would play over at her house (or sleep over sometimes) it seemed like we were in a fairytale house. It was so huge. And there were servants who got us goodies to eat after school. Her bedroom was as big as my entire house is! And in her closet, under a piece of glass that her mother had installed, was carved the name of the real, honest-to-goodness George Washington - done when he was in her house and hiding out from the British who were invading the town. Yep... it's true! George Washington slept in her house! Probably in her very closet (which also was huge by my standards). It is a very historic house. Holly's mother was into antiques too, eventually running an antique shop in town. They moved from that huge mansion while Holly was in high school to a smaller but no less historic house nearby, with a gorgeous view overlooking the historic rooftops of Marblehead, looking off to the harbor. The people who bought the mansion house were not into antiques, and I heard they had all the rooms changed around and had the etched signature of George Washington taken out.... the jerks!

Holly was not only a scholar in high school, but she was gorgeous. She was a thespian, too. She was in all the school plays. I remember the Drama Club put on "Bye Bye Birdie," and Holly played the lead role. In fact, every play she was in, she played the lead. And she sang, too. She had a great voice. It seemed she had it all.

Then, one day when we came to school as usual, the scuttlebut all over the school was that her father had attempted suicide.

We were all apalled, shocked, stunned. Things were never the same for Holly after that. Oh, she was still very intellectual and talented, and she didn't shrink away - at least not after the intial shock of what had happened wore off. Her parents split up - her father did not die (at least not then), but still... that's got to be awful for a kid. Her mother remarried a local shop owner in town - that was probably why her dad did what he did... we didn't know many details and you just didn't ask back then.

Our new driveway is almost done... but not quite done. The guys came by dug up all the old hot top, graded it way down to about 9 inches below grass level and installed more dirt on top, and drove over it with the big drum-thing, tamping it down... they said yesterday that the hot top would be installed today.

So far, it's 2:50 p.m. and I've not seen hide nor hair of them. So I'm assuming it's not going to happen today.

I hate waiting for workmen, too. So I've just been paying attention to my work (which I have plenty of lately) and when they show up...they show up. I can't worry over it. But soon...our new driveway will be done, hopefully before the end of this week. I'll take a picture for you when it's all done.

Cheers,

Bex

8:30 pm - 04 October 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2