Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Minutiae

MINUTIAE

So, the secret to writing a daily journal is ...

Spilling out all the little dribs and drabs of one�s life daily for all the world to see?

or

Sitting down and organizing one�s thoughts, and producing a comprehensive and intelligent story for all to enjoy?

or

Just turning on one's computer, opening up a file, and placing one's fingers on the keys, and waiting ...

Just how do all of you tens of thousands, no, millions of daily journalers do it? Day after day, or night after night. How do you find such a variety of stimulating subjects on which to write, and always with wit and wisdom, humour and sarcasm, but always there, day after day, on the web� a new masterpiece every 24 hours?

Could it be that I lead just about the most hum-drum life of anyone I know? Yes, that could be true. I do spend way too much time at home, after all, either doing work for a paycheck, housework for my family, or internet exploration.

Ever since the "worldwide web" entered my life, back in 1999 or so, my life has taken a 180 degree turn� and I�m not sure it has been for the better. In fact, in many ways, it has been for the worse � the physical-worse, that is.

The good bits about discovering the seemingly endless cyber-world include finding a friend for life. Once a total stranger from the Heartland of America, she and I have bonded into a friendship so strong and deep that I can�t think of living a day without her in it. When one of us goes on holiday, it�s torture for the other one staying home! We manage to muddle through, though, counting the days until we can get back together, via emails, once again! We are hopeless!

But not long after I first bought the webtv unit (now MSNTV), about 5 years ago, I was not the fittest 40-something married woman you�d ever seen, but I could pull my weight around the house, do chores without losing my breath, mow the lawn on the hottest day of the year with little problem, keep the gardens trimmed up and looking spiffy, etc. But now, 5 years into sitting in a chair and typing my brains out every day, my body has finally revolted, (not to mention looking "revolting", as well!) and I have been reduced (or should I say, �increased�?) to being a big blob of flubber.

But there you go. What�s to be done about it?

Move more? Yes -- could do that. But I�ve become, as they say in the medical world �de-conditioned� to the point where moving hurts! Almost any kind of movement hurts. And if I happen to strain my back area, I am laid up for days, and that�s not an option for someone who needs to work every single day to make ends meet.

Hey, I�m not looking for any answers to my dilemma here. I'm just voicing it...isn't that what this journaling thing is all about, really?

Today I am typing out my journal upstairs on my Compaq computer � where I normally do my work. I don�t usually do my journal entries up here� I use my WebTV for almost all my personal stuff. But something told me this morning that if I were ever going to get the journal jump-started again, it was going to have to be up here, at my trusty comfortable computer, where I feel most at home, and where I can write for minutes or hours at a time, without worrying about being kicked off-line.

I don�t go in for the usual computer games, bells and whistles. I don�t even know how to do back-ups of my files, except to just copy them onto diskettes which takes me forever! I am so computer illiterate, it�s amazing I make my living using one!

So�this is minutiae� just me sitting here, talking to �you� out there in Journal-Land, sharing my thoughts, as you do yours, and wondering how alone I really am in all of this.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Weather Report for Salem, MA:

Sunny.

Windy.

Lovely.

A relief after a week of rain.

(if anyone cares!)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

My hands are so sore at this moment. They are in the very early stages of developing �lawn mower blisters� on the palms.

Husband said he would mow the lawns on Saturday (today) however, as luck would have it, it rained yesterday and was �too sloppy� for him to go out lobstering, so today he is out there on the sea, making his living pulling in lobster pots. The grass had grown a foot in the last week thanks to all the rain we�ve had. In fact, every living thing in our garden has grown considerably this year � I can�t believe what a jungle I have in the back garden area now! Everything needs serious trimming! I should do some pictures soon� but then that presents my other problem� I never know how to show you my pictures!

Crow Cottage
June 2003

I use Webshots to store my digital photographs, and I�ll sometimeslink to those (and sometimes they disappear on me) but since I don�t have a Gold Membership at Diaryland, I don�t have a storage area for images. Oh well.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am just cooling down after mowing our back lawn (ha! lawn? It�s an area of dirt with lots of weeds really, with a few blades of grass thrown in!), and then the lower back lawn (Double haha! on that place!) There isn�t ONE single solitary blade of grass down there, only wild plants that I just keep mowing over every week�hey, they�re green! and it looks like a lawn when it�s mowed from far away!). Then I wheeled the old mower around to the long driveway and did the two sides of half-hearted grass there, and then out to the front! The big lawn area! It was about 12 inches high � just since last weekend! A riding lawnmower would be a welcome gift someday, but I�ve given up on that ever happening. We are a humble family here - we don�t �do� fancy-shmancy stuff like that. I guess we�re lucky we have a gas-propelled mower, and not the push-type we used to have!

Anyway, I did the entire 3 lawn areas myself. Quite a feat, considering I am totally deconditioned, lazy, achy, sore, and really not into much physical work lately. So now I have a lovely cut lawn, front and back, and I can go into the Memorial Day weekend proudly� I may even dig out my American flag from the front coat closet and fly it from the flagpole at the front door!

Have a peaceful and safe Memorial Day, Friends!

Cheers,

Bex

11:53 am - 29 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2