Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little to Offer That is More Fair

LITTLE TO OFFER THAT IS MORE FAIR...

"I rode up to Sedge Top this morning...
Blackhill Farm, y'know?

I didn't really know that it was such an exceptionally beautiful morning, but somehow...

When you see a fine new crop of lambs running wild in the river pastures...

When you've ridden through woods full of snowdrops,

Birds singing for their very lives...

When you've looked up at the hills stretching above you.

Then you feel that Earth really can have very little to offer that is more fair."


I was taking advantage of some free time today, after the holiday, to watch my DVD's of the All Creatures Great & Small series. I have all 6 series now, and am just starting to watch the last two. It's so good to see the characters again, James, Helen, Siegfried, Tristan, and people like Mrs. Pumphrey, and even Trickey-Woo.

In one of the scenes I watched this morning, Siegfried Farnon (the older of the two vets at Skeldale House) came in from a horseride in the Dales, and he was full of the wonders of nature and the beauty that surrounds him. It's after World War II, probably in the 1950's or thereabouts, and they are all very much more appreciative of their wonderful luck at having made their homes and livings in the most beautiful corner of the Earth - Yorkshire.

And Siegfried said those lines I've quoted above, to James, and I don't remember hearing them before when I've seen this series, and they just struck me as so poetic and descriptive, and emotional... and it is just how I feel whenever I think of Yorkshire - my "home from home."

Visit Yorkshire Dales Here

Click on the link above and you'll see what I mean. There are various links on that page that will take you around Yorkshire, for a mini-getaway, if you will. A little break from the work-a-day world that we all go thru day after day.

I know envy is one of those seven deadly sins we're not supposed to have, but I am envious of those lucky souls who were born on t'other side of the pond from here, and are fortunate to be living out their lives in what I consider to be the most wonderful place on earth. Yorkshire.

Just thought I'd share with you the feeling that I got when hearing Siegfried Farnon utter those words above. I don't know how long we'll have to wait before we can set foot on English soil once again. It's already been 4-1/2 years, which is much, much too long. But it's times like this, when I get a moment free and can direct my thoughts eastward, across an ocean, to rest on those lovely rolling hills, dales, and moors of the country I have adopted as my home from home... England ... that I enjoy the most.

Cheers,

Bex

11:22 am - 24 November 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2