Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm No Writer

I'M NO WRITER..

It's been so long since I've written anything here, I feel ashamed to do it now. I am in a funk, and not feeling like airing my thoughts to the world, I guess, only to certain friends now and again.

Nothing is going "on" in my life that I feel would make anyone sit up and take notice, that's all.

I live a very quiet life, and though some out there in "Diary-Land" do, as well, you find ways of relating little mundane life events so well, whereas I can't seem to conjure up much in the way of prose these days.

I have begun "juicing." This at the urging of my dear friend, Sheila, who lives in the lap of heaven, in the Yorkshire Dales. She got the L'Equip Mini Juicer a while ago, and has been mentioning how much she loved making lovely juices out of all sorts of veggies and fruits, and so I threw caution to the wind, went on-line to amazon.com and found one for sale by a person in Maryland, for quite a good price I might add - almost $50 off the full price - and it was brand new...and ever since I got it in the post, just a few days ago, I've been "juicing" each day and loving it.

I even went so far as to make a new web page with the juice recipes that I've tried so far...and if anyone wants to peek at it, it's here:

Juicing Recipes

(hope that url works out here!)

Other than that, Husband and I have been in the "purging" mode lately here. He painted walls, a LOT of walls, in our little cottage - so now they all match, all except for my upstairs den where I work - that is still yellow, but some day, probably not until next Winter when he is stuck in the house again - that, too will get a new color.

The color in here now is called "River Sand" and it's like a mushroom/sandy color, very nice, not too light - not too dark.

I made new curtains for the dining room which I am loving (deep red with sand-colored dragonflies all over them) and sheers behind them that have botanicals on them...very different and cosy looking... I refinished an old wood framed mirror and we hung it over the non-working fireplace in the dining room, and it transformed the entire room.

The living room got painted also, and I haven't replaced a lot of the pictures etc. on the walls for now...I'm enjoying the sparceness of the bare sandy colored walls. We ripped up the almost-wall-to-wall carpet that has been in here since we bought the house in 1987 and, as you can imagine, with several dogs coming and going since then, it needed to be purged!

Paul scrubbed and waxed the wood floors that were hidden away, and now the dogs are slipping and sliding all over the place - they need skids glued to their feet!

Then I bought, from the Country Curtains catalog, 6 fruitwood colored matchstick bamboo roll-up shades for the windows in here, to go behind the tab curtins...it's much more diffused light coming in now, and for the summer, I thought it would keep it a bit cooler.

I have asked Husband to install the A/C unit back in the window in my den...we hear it may reach 80 on Monday, so hot, humid weather can't be far away now. Summer kind of nudges Spring right out of the way each year, and we don't really get much of the lovely cool-ish Spring days anymore.

So, that's all that's been happening. Paul is back to lobstering a day or two a week, and he's sure glad to be out of the house after a long winter.

We have crocuses blooming in the front garden, and the forsythia is threatening to pop yellow very soon, as well. I am very much looking forward to watching the flowering trees in the gardens spring forth with all their incredible beauty and color soon. Spring is truly the best of seasons.

But alas, I have written myself out here...and like I said, I'm no writer, after all. Just a working stiff, trying to get thru each day without too much trouble.

Cheers,

Bex

8:20 pm - 17 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2