Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Christmas Offering

A Christmas Offering

I can't take credit for finding this site on my own. It was linked by a cyber-friend, Becky on her recent journal entry. But it's a super site if you like to watch Christmas shows:

The Christmas Spot

There are 101 of the best Christmas shows linked there for you to click onto and watch. At the end there are comments by readers with even more examples of Christmas classic shows.

Alas, I can't do this as WebTv isn't able, and I don't download things to my computer since I use it mainly for my work. But I just wanted to offer it to you, in case any of you have some free time over the holidays and want to just relax with an old classic Christmas show.

Thanks, Becky, for providing this link, and I wish you a peaceful holiday.


I had a small errand to do yesterday but it got blown all out of proportion. All I wanted to do was go over and pick up my mother-in-law and take her to the food market to buy the ingredients necessary for the homemade pizzas we will be making for dinner at their apartment on Christmas Eve. She had never made pizzas before, so I offered to take her so she could get the necessary items.

My in-laws live in the neighboring town, only 8 miles from our house.

I was supposed to take her on Saturday (today) but since we were expecting a rainstorm (which we are indeed having here now), she asked me if we could do it on Friday, instead. I agreed.

I did part of my typing work at home in the morning, and around 12 noon I left here to go pick her up. It was mildly heavy traffic but nothing I thought was unbearable. I arrived at her place at 12:30 on the nose - that's 30 minutes to drive 8 miles. In a perfect world, it only takes me 17 minutes, but hey, it's December the 22nd, on a Friday at noon when, I'm sure, all the working world has wrapped up work and is heading home for the holidays.

I picked her up and we headed back out to the food store, which is about 1 mile away. In bumper to bumper traffic. Inching along at a snail's pace, we made it to the store, which was surprisingly empty I thought. We got all the items to make the pizzas and drove back to her apartment, now in slightly heavier bumper to bumper traffic, inching along the entire way.

Wow, when everyone is out on the roads all at once, it's murder getting anywhere around here!

I dropped her off with the loot, and got back out onto the roads for the 8 mile drive back home.

I didn't arrive home until 3:15 p.m. I left here at 12 noon.

It took me 3 hours and 15 minutes to go 8 miles, shop for pizza ingredients, and return the 8 miles back home.

Unbelievable.

Now of course, I didn't finish my Friday's typing since I was doing all of the above, so now I have to go upstairs, finish my work, drive it over to the office (which is very near where I went shopping yesterday) and back home - in traffic that was horrendous yesterday, December 22nd, but will more than likely be unbearable today, December 23rd.

Oh dear me. I guess I just have to resign myself to sitting in long traffic lines, listening to my Andrea Boccelli "Romanza" CD in the car stereo, and dreaming of days to come when my car is allowed to speed up to maybe 20 or even 30 mph along the highways and byways of the North Shore.

Happy Holidays, one and all.

Cheers,

Bex

8:03 am - 23 December 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2