Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Progress, Bah Humbug!

Progress...bah humbug!

For 20 years now, I have been looking out my living room floor-to-ceiling sliding door windows (which is right next to my favorite chair) and I get to look out over the rooftops of my neighbors' homes, thru the trees, or rather over most of the trees, out to a hill that is about a mile away, in Marblehead, the neighboring (and my home-) town. I like this view. I like that hill that I've been gazing at for all these many years. The hill is kind of barren, meaning all the trees I can see are below it's summit. There are no trees sitting on top of the hill at all, and to tell the truth, it reminds me of my very favorite place in the entire universe, the North York Moors in Yorkshire, England.

Progress has taken over.

Bah Humbug!

One day a few weeks ago, I looked out at "my" hill, as I am wont to do all the time I'm relaxing in my chair, and I saw what looked like a big bug standing up on my hill, silhouetted against the sky. It has big arms and legs, and was actually moving. The sun was glinting off its eyeballs (windows) and it wasn't long before I realized I was looking at a big bobcat type of digger on my hill.

Since that time, more big equipment has come along, and the digging has been progressing daily. There is a huge digger today silhouetted against the pale blue sky, digging up pieces of my hill, no doubt to make it ready to build ugly boxes, otherwise known as yuppie-houses, on it. My pretty barren, moors-like hill is going to be a yuppie neighborhood, and soon all I will have left to gaze at is a bunch of horrid boxy houses standing on top of it.

Darn!

Today, there was a loud explosion coming from that direction while I was sitting here, and when I turned my head to look over at "my" hill, all I could see was a huge puff of white smoke coming up into the sky. They are blasting my hill apart!

It's bad enough living in a city these days, but out here, at the edge of our city, I've loved being surrounded by a few hills, and lots and lots of trees.. I guess I'm just going to have to face facts....

They are paving Paradise, to put up a parking lot... and a slew of architecture, as well!

(Now, if someone were to build a stone castle on top of my hill, with turrets, and flags flying, etc...I wouldn't mind so much, that is never gonna happen.)

No cheers, just Bah Humbug!

Bex

3:59 pm - 07 December 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2