Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alternative Retirement Scheme

AN ALTERNATIVE RETIREMENT SCHEME
��

When I get old and feeble, I am going to��get on a Princess Cruise Ship.��


The average cost for a nursing home is $200 per day.��I have checked on reservations at Princess and I can get a��long term discount and senior discount price of $135 per��day.��

That leaves $65 a day for:

1.��Gratuities which will only be $10��per day.

2.��I will have as many as 10 meals a�day if I can waddle to the restaurant, or I can��have room service (which means I can have breakfast in bed every��day of the week!).

3.��Princess has as many as three�swimming pools, a workout room, free washers and dryers, and shows every night.

4.� They have free toothpaste and�razors, and free soap and shampoo.

5.��They will even treat you like a�customer, not a patient.��An extra $5 worth of tips�will have the entire staff scrambling to help you.

6.��I will get to meet new people�every 7 or 14 days.

7.��T.V. broken?��Light bulb need changing?��Need to have the mattress replaced? No��Problem!�They will fix everything and apologize for your inconvenience.

8.��Clean sheets and towels every day,�and you don't even have to ask for them.

9.��If you fall in the nursing home�and break a hip you are on Medicare.��If you�fall and break a hip on the Princess ship they will upgrade you to�a suite for the rest of your life.


Now hold on for the best!��

Do you want��to see South America, the Panama Canal, Tahiti, Australia, New��Zealand, Asia, (England!) or name where you want to go? Princess will have a ship�ready to go.


So don't look for me in a nursing home - just call shore to ship.

(P.S.��And don't forget, when you die,��they just dump you over the side at no charge!)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

[If anything above is found to be untrue, don't blame me - I received this by email, anonymously written, so I am only the messenger, not the author! But it sure sounds pretty darn good to me!]

I am not sure if I'd get seasick on a boat that big, but it looks like the crew has thought of everything, so maybe Dramamine is on the breakfast tray each morning!

As the years go by, and retirement is inching closer and closer (I only have about 9 more years to go) these things are on my mind more and more. I never thought I'd be concerned about things like nursing homes, etc., but that's what being "over-the-hill" does to ya!


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am still savouring the baseball extravaganza of the Boston Red Sox winning the World Series last night. Victory is sweet, especially when it's been 86 years coming!

Back to work for me. I only came down here for a bite to eat, to rest my worn-down-to-nubs fingers, and to check my email.

I have many miles to go yet on the computer upstairs before I am done for the day.

Take care, friends.

Bex

11:23 am - 28 October 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2