Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Listen to the Rhythm...

LISTEN TO THE RHYTHM...

Listen to the rhythm of the falling rain..

Telling me just what a fool I've been...

(and I can't remember the rest of the words)

Whenever I sit here with my sliding door open, and it's gently raining outside, I think of that song, wasn't it sung by Ricky Nelson?

Anyway, here I sit, on my last official day of vacation, listening to the falling rain outside, and thinking back over these last several days of freedom. They've been wonderful. The best part, as I was telling my friend Sandy this morning, was waking up each morning and having a clean slate of activities for the day. Nothing planned, except for going to lunch at Mary's house yesterday (which was perfectly lovely and yummy) and it felt so liberating! Paul goes off lobstering each day very early...he's usually out of the house by 5 or 6 a.m. (the later it gets in the season, the later he leaves). He's gone til late in the day, and I've had all that time to myself.

It's not really a big deal to some, but to me, it's a HUGE deal - having time on my hands to do as I please.


I took the dogs for a real walk the other day. I thought I was up for it, but my back and legs got very tired and sore by the end and I was hobbling back up the (new and improved) driveway in the end. Haven't done another walk since then, either.

I cleaned my house - something that's not a big deal probably to most folks, but to me it's a HUGE deal, since basically I'm allergic to housecleaning and only do it when it's absolutely necessary because company is coming. I got that swiffer-vac and that has made keeping the bare floors clean a lot easier.

I cleaned up my den where I work, and I ran the various clean-up, debugging programs on my computer which I put off too long. I defragged it, too, which I usually like to do at the end of each week, but I hadn't done it for a while before now. It keeps the computer much more organized and working faster for me.

Last night I finished the book I've been trying to finish for months now, and it was so good (The Drowning People) - there was a slight mystery to it near the end and I guessed it correctly, which always pleases me.

I am making a bread-machine bread for Paul now (something I do about twice a week anyway), and I cooked his oats for his home-made granola as he was almost out of it. (Home made granola is so good!) And, I have all the ingredients out on the kitchen counter ready to whip up a batch of peanut-butter dog cookies for my girls. I have this great little dog-treat cookbook called "Dog Bites" and they love the PB cookies...so they will be happy tail-waggers later on today when I'm done.

I would have yanked out the lawnmower, but we've had wet weather part of this week and I can't mow in the wet weather very well.

So all in all, I've had a relaxing yet productive holiday. My next time off won't occur until at least May when I hope to take another week off... unless by some miracle, we decide to go to England, which is unlikely at this late date, and in that case I would take 2 weeks off all at once.

We haven't been to England in 4-1/2 years now. Way too long to wait...but such is life. Things change and life has a way of making it's own agenda for us.

Just the money we spent on that driveway (close to $4,900.) would have paid for probably two trips to England for us... or maybe not two complete trips but close. Things have gotten a lot more pricey I hear since we were there last.

But you do what you have to do to maintain a home, and that driveway is so much nicer for us now. Just not having to go clunking into the hole at the bottom of the drive each time I back out makes it almost worth all that money!

Well, that's all for now. I can hear the distant noise of the city's street work going on down the street, they have been installing new water pipes out there all summer long, and it seems that they never move on - they just stay there where we have to get out of our neighborhood, making it very tiresome coming and going, but, come the snow, they will be done with it...

...hopefully.

Cheers,

Bex

10:17 am - 20 October 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2