Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come Saturday Morn...

Come Saturday Morn...

Whenever I am trying to think of a title for this journal, I always, always, think of a song. Today it was that old 1970's (?) song "Come Saturday Morning" and I can't name the group, but I think they were British...

[Note: I found out the song is by The Sandpipers, written in 1969, and you can hear it by clicking on the link above.]

Anyway, I have not got much to say here... I just wanted to get a new entry up, kind of erasing all that a political speak I'd put in before because, after a week of the Democratic National Convention here in the Boston area, I am just about filled up to overflowing with politicians!

It's Saturday morning, and here I sit, on-line, reading a few journals, cleaning up my spam and answering emails from friends. I have work to accomplish today, work from Friday that I couldn't finish yesterday, typing medical reports... so I am headed upstairs now to do that. I love being able to space out my typing to suit the needs of myself and my family - but especially the needs of my aching hands! Typing 6 or 7 or 8 hours a day is hard on these 56 year old hands - they have typed many, many miles in their lifetime - and not only do I type for a living, non-stop for hours and hours a day, but my spare time is spent using my webtv and typing for fun, as well! Go Figure!

We are in the midst of a heat wave here in New England. It's been a rather strange Summer so far, we've had a lot of gray cooler days, and now we must pay the piper, and the heat and humidity have arrived. Not my favourite weather! Give me the cool rainy weather of England any day!

Ah, England! That's a rather sore subject here lately. You see, this year was supposed to be our year to travel back there...we normally go every other year, and our last trip was in 2002. But we gutted and installed a completely new kitchan last year, so we had to skip this year and save money, instead. So it should be next year, 2005, that we get back there... however, even that is beginning to look dim.

The lobstering (husband is a commercial lobsterman) has been "off" this year...don't know why exactly, but the fishermen haven't been getting normal catches until just within the last few weeks... and the year is half over now... so we may very well need another year to scrape and save to get our "vacation funds" up to snuff for another trip across the pond.

We haven't completely decided this yet, but it's looking that way.

I never was a "saver" of money - before I married Paul. But he was... and he got me into doing it regularly, and now we both have several retirement programs going... and it's a requirement that I put the maximum amount allowed into my IRA every year...and that's before saving any money for holidays! Well, I haven't accomplished that yet, so next year's holiday may be another one "around the house" again!

So... it's Saturday morning...it's hot and humid outside, but we are lucky enough to have two nice window air conditioners that keep our little cottage nicely cooled down on days like this. I need to get upstairs to work now... been fiddling around here too long now as it is.

One more quick thing.

Today is my ex-husband's birthday.

Even though he is my "Ex", I still have good memories of our time together - we've known each other since grade school - and I harbor no ill feelings toward him. So I just wanted to officially say:

Happy Birthday, Bill!

and I hope he has a wonderful day doing something he loves. More likely than not, that will be driving out to Orange, MA, and going skydiving, because he has become quite enamoured of that sport the last few years... I don't know what jump he is up to, but last time I looked, he had done more than 500 jumps!

Go B.P.!

That's it from here...

Cheers,

Bex

7:15 am - 31 July 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2