Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Far, So Good...

So Far, So Good...

Paul is out of surgery. They only removed one lobe plus the nodule of his left thyroid. The right side is intact and still attached!

Thank-The-Lord-And-All-Who-Prayed-For-Him!

Recap:

We left the house this morning, in the dark, at 6:15. Way earlier than I like to be awake, or at least up and dressed. I didn't sleep a wink all night worrying about this. The dogs kinda thought we were leaving for England or something, they weren't sure...but something was amiss, in their minds, I'm sure.

Arrived at the SurgiCenter at 6:30 a.m. as scheduled, and sat around for, oh, about 20 minutes. They took Paul into the prep area and I came along with him, and we sat in a tiny room chatting with the nurse - turns out her husband used to do gill-net fishing for years...she knew a lot of the fishermen around here that Paul knows! Small world! And her husband's fishing boat sunk one year (as did Paul's lobster boat) but he went back to fishing after that anyway - as did Paul.

Anyway, we were in there having things done to him and getting the drill about what they would be doing, and then the anesthesia lady came in and told us all the details of what to expect and had him sign the consent form. Then the surgeon came by to say hi, and had him sign a consent and then the anesthesia girl (?nurse?) started to place the IV needle into his left hand. She could not find a vein!

Gee, I thought all these years I was married to a human, but maybe I was wrong?

She tried and tried, but nothing!

Paul LOOKED very calm and composed, but I was getting squeamish! Anyway, when the nurse took that big needle out and left the room (to try again I suppose) Paul told me he felt like he was going to pass out.....

OhMyGod!

I yanked the other nurse in there and told her that, and she ran out, hit the red light button, and all hell broke loose...

Panic time!

Everyone and their brother showed up in that teensy-weensy room. I was shoved into the corner holding my gigantic purse and our coats, until I felt I was in the way, so they hustled me outta there.

Out in the corridor, all these ladies (?volunteers?) came over to ME asking if I was ok?

"Yeah...I'm just worried about my Paul!!!"

They wanted ME to sit down.... got me some apple juice... oh it was all bizarre! Meanwhile, I kept glancing into the little room where my sweetie was lying back on the bed/table, looking positively ashen gray. I was so damn scared at that point... here we were, not even IN surgery yet, and he was flipping out.

The little ladies told me not to look! Oh god! I needed to call his folks to have them come over anyway, so I asked to be shown where a phone was, and they gave me more juice, and I called my in-laws. They were just going to leave and come over - about 30 minutes it would take them.

So I had to go back out into the SurgiCenter waiting area and sit tight - by now it was about 8:15, and he was scheduled for an 8 a.m. surgery. They were just a tad late starting...

After his folks arrived, I filled them in and we all sat around and chatted and read magazines until around 9:45 when I decided I would pop back over to the house to let the dogs out to do their business.

I did that and came right back. Nothing yet... so we waited some more...

Finally, around 11:15, I asked at the desk if they were done yet, and they said Paul was just getting out of surgery and Dr. L. would be down to talk to us soon.

He showed up, said it appeared to be benign (yes! that beautiful little 6-letter word that I've been waiting to hear for months now - benign!) and that they only took out the left lobe and nodule.

He told us he will be staying overnight but that he wouldn't be getting to the room for a couple of hours yet, so we went down to the large cafeteria and had some lunch. I ran into a lady with whom I used to work in the Radiology Dept. of Salem Hospital almost 30 years ago. I asked her to join us as she was alone and we had a nice visit with her over lunch.

Then we went up to the floor where Paul would be going to, but he wasn't there yet. They said everyone was at lunch and the room hadn't been cleaned yet. He was still in the Recovery Room and couldn't have visitors in there. So I decided to run over to work, drop off my Wednesday work and pick up my Thursday work, then bop on back to the house, let the dogs out and in again, change my hot sweater for a lighter weight top because hospitals don't seem to care how hot they keep those places, and back I went to the hospital again. I found the folks and they STILL hadn't seen Paul and it was about 2:30 by this time. So we waited a while there in the TV room, and finally, the nurse came to tell us he was in his room!

We had a nice visit with him, and oh my, he never looked so good to me in all my life! He was smiling, and glad to see us. He is a little hoarse, but not in any apparent pain. He's got a little TV on a swing-bar over his bed, so he can watch his shows if he wants. We stayed a little bit and then left when the nurse came by to take some "vitals."

He'll be home sometime tomorrow, so I am one thankful wifey here!

Thank you all, again, for your prayers and good thoughts.

I need to get my typing done now.

Cheers!

Bex

3:02 pm - 11 January 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2