Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Small Successes

SMALL SUCCESSES...

It doesn't take much to make me happy. Good thing, too, because we might go broke otherwise.

I've been enjoying my week's vacation from work. It's only half over, but I broke down today and called Mary at work - just to see how things were going. I don't believe this qualifies me as a "work-a-holic" does it? Anyway, Mary asked me to come for lunch at her house on Thursday (tomorrow), and I really wanted to know what time to show up, since she IS working a half-day herself. The more I thought about it, the more I thought I should have invited her HERE for lunch, since I'd have all morning to prepare, but she had asked me weeks ago to come, so I am going.

I changed the heading picture above. I took a bunch of front garden/dog pictures this morning, even though the weather has been rainy and overcast. The dogs were out there and looked really nice against the wet grass and plants. And I hadn't taken any good pics of Emmalee for a while. Whitby is like a covergirl - she's had her picture taken more than most professional models!


I've gotten a few things done on my holiday. I cleaned upstairs one day (we only have 2 bedrooms and a half bath up there). I had Paul remove the a/c from my den, and I really had to get the vacuum out and do some cleaning in that area, and that mushroomed to the entire 2nd floor area. Then another day I vac'd the downstairs. I went to Target and did my annual vacation spending spree (I very rarely go shopping). I got something that I just this minute used for the first time and it was SUPER!

It's a Swiffer vac/sweeper. It's like the old swiffers but with a rechargeable little suction vac on it. It has a cloth on the bottom but it's not wet. I had some furs and crumbs on the floors just now and I took it out and ran it over all the bare floors and it worked fabulously! It was only about $23. too, so I feel very relieved I didn't waste that money.

Another chore I just finished was clearing out the basket of papers, receipts, catalogs, etc. on my desk upstairs. I got this nice rectangular wicker basket that stands about 10 inches high, and is lined with fabric. It fits all kinds of loose stuff that was just sitting in a pile on the corner of my desk before. But once it's in the basket, I tend to forget about it, and it had built up pretty full. So I just filed all that stuff into their proper manilla folders in my filing cabinet. I threw out all the catalogs I am not going to need, and kept a few. Then I had to balance the last 3 months' worth of checking account bank statements. I hadn't realized it had been so long since I'd done it last.

When I was done, it balanced with my checkbook to the penny!

Small successes... they make my day!

I discovered another good product. My doctor had asked me to begin taking a fiber supplement like Fiber Ch0ice, and I have been taking them daily (the chewable tablets). Then I saw an ad for Fiber Ch0ice Weight Management tablets, and I got some of them. I just started taking those and, by-gum, if they don't work! Usually when I am home with free time, I am looking for food, but this week I have not really thought much about food at all, except to eat good regular meals. We'll see how this goes, but I may have stumbled onto a real gem!

I made a tuna sandwich for lunch, on pumpernickel bread, and instead of putting lettuce on it, I put shredded coleslaw that I got all prepared at the store. It is great - I don't know why I never thought to use that before. I love cabbage and carrots anyway, and this goes great with the tunafish.


So that's about it for now. Here are more pictures for you that I took today.


That's it for now. Enjoy the last half of your week.

Cheers,

Bex

12:30 pm - 18 October 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2