Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the survey says...

And the survey says.....

A lot of time I do these entries without much thinking ahead of time, and it probably shows. My life is pretty hum-drum so there's not a lot to report on as a rule, and nothing's changed today... except that I'm on holiday for a whole glorious week - well until Friday afternoon when I pick up my work for the following Monday. But for now, I have 6 days off from work. Typing work, that is. Housework never gives you a day off, not that I really do much housework, 'cause I don't.

But there was something I've been wanting some input on for a while now, and now's as good a time to ask you all for your opinions - well not so much opinions...as what it is you do about this subject...

Breakfast.

I've never been a breakfast eater. I know I should eat breakfast, but I just can't get my head around it early in the morning. I have a cuppa tea or coffee early, but that's all I can stand to have.

This has worked for me - up until now, but now that I'm getting into my "elder" years, the old body does not bounce back like it used to do, and I'm beginning to think that my eating habits are the cause of some of my problems. Like not eating breakfast.

The thing is that if I eat a bowl of cereal, it gets me too full to work. And I need to work well in the mornings. So I've been waiting til around 10 or 11 to have "brunch" and that's more like a lunch than a breakfast. I'm thinking this is not the best way to be doing it, and I wanted to know what you all do.

WHAT DO YOU REGULARLY EAT FOR BREAKFAST?

If you'd just take a moment and leave a little note in the comments section, and also let me know if what you eat is quick and easy or long and drawn-out. Because I tend to need quick and easy. Also, is it working ok for you, health-wise?

They always say that eating a lot of smaller meals a day is better - keeps the metabolism going smoother and burns up more calories. I don't have the time usually for so many small meals, and wondered how you handle that, as well?

Sometimes I think 58-1/2 years old is too late to be thinking about getting healthy, but then I see someone like Suzanne Somers who has just turned 60 and has won (5 years and clear) her battle with breast cancer without using the conventional medical methods, and she looks fabulous. Granted, she's covered in bleached hair, and a ton and a half of makeup, but still... for 60, not bad at all. And she's got a new book out too that I'm thinking of buying, Ageless - The Naked Truth About Bioidentical Hormones. I have a few of her other books and she makes so much sense. She's into "bio-identical hormone" treatments and she says they've completely changed her life.

I'm thinking about broaching the subject of bio-identical hormones with my primary care doctor the next time I go there in March. I wonder what she'll think. I may buy Suzanne's book first, read it, and bring it in with me, because all the pertinent information is in there.

There are some people that I know instinctively are right on the money with what they are espousing, and Suzanne is one of those people. She's gone against conventional wisdom and she's a pioneer really in this area. Because of her, the bio-identical hormones are available here in the U.S. (although not approved by the FDA) but still are available thru a doctor's prescription.

If anyone out there knows anything more on this subject, I'm all ears.


So, here I have some free time - and what do I have planned? Not much. I'm doing laundry now. I have a filthy dirty house that could stand to be hoovered and dusted - and maybe I'll get in the mood to do that soon. But one goal I have is to take my two dogs for a real walk - not a long one, but now that my knee is feeling better, it's time to start doing walkies again.

Oh, by the way, I had my last physical therapy session on Friday. They said I could continue coming, but if I felt I didn't need it, I could be discharged. Which is what I plan to do. My knee has all kinds of things going on in it that won't change by doing physical therapy, but if I can just keep exercising at home, and maybe start walking again, I think it will be fairly ok. It hurts a lot less than it did when I first started. And all because of just a few exercises for the muscles in my leg.


Another goal I have set myself for my 6 days of freedom is to finish a book I started months ago. Actually, I've got several books going, but this one is the best of them all, and I do want to finish it. The book is called The Drowning People, by Richard Mason.

Richard Mason was somewhat of a celebrity over in the UK when this book came out, or so I read. He's also somewhat of a family member to us. His partner, Ben Morse, is Paul's second cousin. Paul's cousin Jane, who passed away some years ago, was Ben's mom. I haven't seen Ben since our wedding 20 years ago, but Paul saw him recently this summer when he was here in the US on business. He now lives in Glasgow, Scotland, with Richard. They said that if we ever get over to the UK again, we can stay up at their condo in Glasgow (they have two).

Richard wrote this book I'm reading when he was 19 or 20 years old and a student at Oxford. I guess he was the toast of the town back then and he won some literary prize for it. I have to say, and not because he's "part of the family", that his writing is superb. He's about 10 years older now, but the book I'm reading is so well written I have to keep reminding myself he was so young when he wrote it. I highly recommend it if anyone wants to look it up.


So that's enough for now. I may do a few more entries this week, since I've got some free time now. At this point, my dogs, who are out in their back yard, are woofing for me to let them back in. And that's just what I'm going to do. And now the fun starts and the furs will fly... more to vacuum and dust... it never ends.

Cheers,

Bex

8:36 am - 15 October 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2