Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take Me There...

Take Me There...

"Take me there - take me there... I don't care where we go. Take me, I just want to know what I used to know.

"Take me there - take me there... I don't care where we go. Take me there, take me... I just want to go!"


The above lines are the chorus from a Seals & Crofts song, "Advance Guards," and I've been playing this old album (CD) on my car stereo all week, It's the "Summer Breeze" album... and this particular song, above, just gets deep down into my soul whenever I hear it, and I'm humming it or singing it aloud the rest of the day!

It's the beat of it that's so great. You can't tell just by reading the words, so if you want the real effect, go buy the album (or find it on the internet) and play the song for real. It will infect you, too.


It reminds me that I am constantly wishing to be taken back to places. Places where I was carefree, footloose, and fancy-free... back in my youth, when the world was safer and rosier than it is today - at least I thought it was. I want to be taken back there lots of days - to forget the mundane day-to-work-a-day-existence I live now. There are large chunks of my life that are all but forgotten in the everyday scheme of things in my brain. I concentrate now on words - words - and more words. I transcribe medical reports for my living, which is a good, honest enough profession. I'll never get rich doing it, in fact, I keep just this side of the poorhouse most of the time. If it weren't for Paul making a little money at his job as a lobsterman, I don't know where I'd be today. But it wouldn't be a pretty sight.

Yesterday, on my 8 mile drive over to work, I put in a Best of Linda Ronstadt CD. Oh my, now SHE takes me back to where I want to go... When she sings "Love Has No Pride" I swoon... but my very favourite one of hers on that album is "Long, Long Time" - that takes me to so many places that I just love to be. Years melt away, and I'm back as a teenager again, dating my boyfriend, Gary, who I never thought I'd EVER get over when we broke up. I loved how it made me feel back then when we were dating. Those wild, impetuous days in the 1960's. He was 3 years older than I, had already been to college but had quit and now was working full time, nights. He'd be there after school, in the parking lot, sitting in his little red Corvair - waiting for me and my friends. We'd all hop in, and off we'd go! Out into the world of boys and fun, and all that jazz. I had so much fun back in those days that I never prepared much for my adult life ahead.

That was my big mistake.

I was never expected to go to college. It wasn't in the cards for me or for my brother back then. What was expected was to graduate high school and go right out and get a job.

And that's what I did. And I've been working at these low-paying jobs ever since then... all my life. I don't know if college would have made a big difference to me in the end. I am who I am. I am content with my life like this, don't really wish to be included in with the wealthier side of town. So I guess it all worked out like it was supposed to do. Just a little life, no big deal, with a nice steady husband and two great dogs... a job that satisfies me, and food on the table every day.

Waxing nostalgic, I am today. It's those old albums that do it to me. Seals & Crofts... Take me there, take me there... I just want to go!

Bex

3:27 pm - 30 November 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2