Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The First of Many...

THE FIRST OF MANY...

Doctors' visits, that is.

Today I am going to see an ophthalmologist, Dr. G. I chose him from the list my PCP gave me because his first name is Paul. Isn't that a great reason for choosing a doctor? I have heard, however, that he is well experienced, no-nonsense, and a calm sort, which is the kind of doc I like.

So, because I have a 10:15 a.m. appointment to see Dr. G, I had to work extra hard yesterday to get all of my Monday typing done then. It's hard for me to get a whole day's worth of typing done on a weekend day because I keep getting interrupted - by things like the Red Sox baseball game, dogs, etc. But I persevered on Sunday and got the entire lot done - even though I was still at it into the after-dinner hours of the evening.

The Eye Doc's assistant told me to bring a ride with me, as Dr. G. will be "dilating" my eyeballs, and it is possible my eyes will be blurry when I leave there - not a good condition for driving. So Paul has gone out fishing real early to get 50 traps hauled, he is meeting me back here at 9:30 so we can go together to the eye doc's. Then he will take me home and go back out to finished his work.

This is the first of many appointments I plan on having in my new effort to attend to my flailing health.

Everything seems to be broken at the moment. Yesterday, however, it seemed my walking was a tiny bit better, and I was feeling very optimistic about that. Then I went out late in the afternoon and mowed a small area of grass in back of the house - not much, just the top back yard. I didn't think I'd strained myself, but apparently I was wrong.

Now I can hardly even step down on my right foot...the whole top of my foot is pure pain when I do, not to mention my right knee which is the bad one...and that is also hurting a lot.

Dumb!

But I just hate to see long overgrown grass, and Paul has been so busy lately. Well, he's just going to have to mow the rest before this coming Saturday when we are having his folks over for supper to celebrate Paul's 61st birthday.

We're having lobster, too. Only on special occasions do we get to have lobster, but this is one of those times. His folks are bringing ice cream and fresh picked corn on the cob, and I am making a spice cake for Paul. Maybe I'll throw together a penne pasta salad too with some veggies in it, rather than the usual baked potato. His family are not huge potato salad lovers, so that's pretty much out.

After this appointment, my next one is a week from today at the orthopedist's office. I'm a little apprehensive about this place, it's called "Sports Medicine North" - and my orthopedist specializes in sports-related injuries. Well, my fat old decrepit body is so far from sports it isn't funny. He'll laugh when he comes in and sees this blob on the exam table... when he's probably used to seeing trim, fit types who have just hurt themselves somehow in their usual routine of running, skiing, swimming, rowing, skating, bicycling, or whatever sports-nuts do. I hurt myself just getting out of bed and walking each day!

Then, the next appointment I will have will be that following Friday when I have a two-fer.

A mammogram and a bone scan.

I went last Friday real early in the morning and had my blood work drawn, so that little report should pop up at my PCP's office sometime soon. Wonder what my numbers will show? I hate to even think!

I can see this winter is going to be a little bit different from previous winters. No more hibernating here at Crow Cottage with my honey and my doggers... I think I am being pulled kicking and screaming back into the world of medicine, and I may not be liking it very much.


For any of you who enjoyed my old diary entry last time, I will try to get more typed this week sometime, but I can't promise you when. Work is #1 priority around here for me...then dogs, then husband... so when they are all happy and taken care of, I will see... I'll keep it shorter next time though... I went a little overboard the first time.

Cheers and good health,

Bex

7:20 am - 14 August 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2