Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TOO DECADENT?

TOO DECADENT?

Tell me if you think this is over the top, but I've gotten into a habit of rah-thah spoiling my girls (of the canine variety, that is).

I got this idea from Grouse , a fellow journaler online who treats his dogs this way when they are out and about together, and near a MacDonald's.

My girls don't accompany me on my daily trips to work and back (thru two very heavily trafficked cities, 8 miles each way) and they wait patiently for me to return each day, hoping for some little treat, or even just an early supper (which I moved up from around 5 p.m. to about 3 p.m. just so they'd have time to do more "business" before bedtime rolls around.

Well, now and then, for the past year, on my way home, I go by a few different MacDonald's - depending on which route I take. Today, I really wanted another one of those medium sized iced coffees (more work to do after supper...need to stay alert and awake), and since I don't have caffeinated coffee in my house any longer, I have to get it out if I want it. Which I did today...AND yesterday.

While I'm getting juiced up myself with the forbidden caffeine, I also get two PLAIN CHEESEBURGERS which, BTW, only go for $1 apiece. (Say, didn't I tell you about this already?)

Well, today I did it again for my girls, and I've got to say, they are being awfully nice to me lately.

When I get back I give them their usual cup of kibble, and I slice up into chunks the whole cheeseburger into each dish with the kibble, and they just go nuts munching on that "real" meat and cheese! Holy-Moley!

For $2 a day, that's only $14 a week, if I were to do it every day, which isn't really too much to spend on my darling pupper-girls... after all, they are all the off-spring I have, and making them happy makes ME happy. And when they are happy, and I am happy, this house just runs a lot more smoothly...


All day I've been thinking about LA and her telling me she has had TEN MRIs. That just blows me away. I will fight tooth and nail to resist ever getting another one... but now that I am a fixture in the health care system once more, I'm afraid that sometime down the road it won't be that easy to refuse... and some doctor, somewhere, will probably talk me into it. I may have forgotten by then just how much I hated my first one...and will find myself being slid head first down into that claustrophobic tube to be zapped with magnetic resonance rays again... it makes me shiver just to think of it.


On a more fun topic, we have officially given our paving contractor the go-ahead to start ripping up and repaving our driveway.

This has been long coming... since we bought this house in 1986, the driveway has been old and decrepit. It's all bumpy and lumpy, grass grows out of the old broken up hot-top all over it, and it's just a very messy sight to have to face each time we come home.

Paul decided recently that he was sick and tired of always pulling up the weeds and stray grasses from the hot top, and we set about getting some estimates.

We ended up only getting one, and it seemed reasonable. The other man we were considering said he was too busy to do ours this year.

So Atlantic Paving gets the job. And the sooner they start, and finish, the happier I'll be.

I can't even imagine how luxurious it will be to have a real smooth, neat and clean driveway for a change.

Classy!

Moving on up in the world.....

Of course, our roof needs redoing, our grass is really just green weeds that we mow so it looks like grass from afar...and there are a million and one other jobs that need attention around this old house...but the driveway is something I never thought Paul would do, and I'm so thrilled he's made enough money this year to be able to do it.

Cheers,

Bex

3:00 pm - 30 August 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2