Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Winter Garden

The Garden in Winter

Testing One, Two, Three...

I'm testing this URL to see if my picture of our Garden In Winter will appear here. I have had many troubles with using URL's from Webshots before, so this is really a test.

A past winter at Crow Cottage - rear garden area

I love our gardens in the Spring and Summer. But the Winter Garden is a whole 'nuther story! Paul's equipment for making his living takes front and center stage, and his buoys are colorful - like a flower garden - and I don't really hate them out there. The lobster traps are not too bad either, providing lots of little bird-houses for the multitude of birds we have in our garden. They love poking around in the traps - sometimes one will get stuck in there, and Paul will have to disassemble the pile and release it. I have released a few feathered friends myself, but for the most part, they can work their way back out thru the holes and nets in the traps.

They feel safe in there, too - away from the kitty-cats who prowl the neighborhood looking for a tender morsel - or from the fox who has been frequenting our back garden of late. We haven't actually spied Mr. Fox, but our neighbor has seen him rummaging around looking for tasty treats where he can find them...

Then, of course, there are the ever-present skunks and raccoons who pop in from time to time at Crow Cottage, just to mix things up a bit, and to let us know that we are NOT the King and Queen of this hill... that we reside here alongside of all the other creatures, great and small, that God has put here. We respect them and, for the most part, they respect us...so we cohabitate quite nicely - we were "skunked" on two occasions, and that was not one of our more pleasant memories - the late (great) Muffin CollieFlower (tri-color collie) got sprayed right in the face and she was none too happy either!

So, that's it from here for today. I've just done my shopping for a nice dinner I'm going to cook for us for SuperBowl Sunday... it's from my new cookbook, Lydia Cooks Italian-American, and it's shrimp in a chunky marinara sauce over pasta - I got the jumbo shrimp today at the market and I got a nice big loaf of Italian olive oil and garlic bread baked fresh today... should be a good day tomorrow...

GO NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS!

Cheers ~

1:01 pm - 31 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2