Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Way The Wind Blows

THE WAY THE WIND BLOWS...

I guess I only feel like writing an entry here when there's something interesting happening here at Crow Cottage worth writing about. Our day to day lives here are decidedly boring to most, peaceful to us, but not much to write about, I'm afraid.

Today seems to be a very windy day here in middle New England.

But the wind down South is stirring up a lot more trouble for folks who have already weathered way more than their share of winds, rains, and general upheaval of their lives.

I can remember back in the "olde dayes" as a kid, we'd look forward to a good hurricane... and those were the days when they were all "female" storms, too. How did we go from female to generically named storms, anyway, and what's all this stuff with foreign sounding names? Paul thinks they should all be plain English names for the hurricanes, but I warned him he was sounding very bigoted there, and he changed his tune. Now "Frances" was a nice name - it was my Nana's name, in fact, as well as my sister's middle name. "Charley" -- well, my brother is a Charles, Chuck, Chas, but he never was really a Charley.

As for Ivan, well, I did know an Ivan once. He was a little dirty-white colored poodle, very small, neighbor of ours (when I was married to husband #1 of 2) back in the 1970's in Hyattsville, Maryland. Ivan was a cute pooch, but I prefer large bungling, goofy dogs... we have collies, and though they are not too goofy as a rule, ours can be!

But back to the wind...

I am hoping that this hurricane coming along now (Ivan) leaves us well alone up here in New England, because I have a dear friend flying in to visit with us, she's coming from Iowa and has to take two plane rides to get here... and I do NOT want her planes to be bumping along in windy skies! Either coming or going!

After she leaves and gets home safe and sound, I'll allow a small hurricane up here... but nothing major, thank you.

My husband lobsters for a living, and you wouldn't believe how a hurricane (or even a bad storm) can screw up his traps, not to mention his boat!

And then there's the winds of bodily functions.

I won't go into too much gross detail about it, but I've had some sort of a gastrointestinal "bug" this week, and it hasn't been pretty. I've contined working right along every day, with much difficulty a couple of days, but Paul has volunteered to shuttle my typing back and forth from home to office, and for him I am eternally grateful. He's not a great "nurse" when I'm ill, but he does do those little errands that are just too much for me when needed, and without complaining...

So, with the winds blowing around the world lately as they are, the political campaigns going their usual nasty routes (which only caused people to click thru any political ad on TV), we are weathering our storms here just fine I suppose. Others seem to have much more serious problems than we have, so I can't complain too much.

Yesterday, we got some much needed "wind" installed in our kitchen/breakfast room. The old ceiling fan had died several weeks ago, and we've been waiting for our electrician to come and install the new one we bought, along with a new bathroom exhaust fan/light combo. He also added a much needed plug outlet in the bedroom upstairs, so we now have all our electricial work up to date here. And we have a lovely white ceiling fan overhead while we eat dinner each night, which I've been really missing these last few hot weeks!

So that's the way wind blows from here.

We hope the people - and all creatures great and small - in the path of Ivan will fare OK in the next week. Prayers for them will be going up.

Cheers,

Bex

1:42 pm - 10 September 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2