Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who's in Charge Here?

WHO'S IN CHARGE HERE?

Oh, sure...there they sit...so peaceful looking, so cuddly, so lovable. Man's best friend!

The Dog!

Even better... two dogs. Right?

Well, let's just analyze this now.

Paul gets up at 5 each day, 4:30 in the summertime, and he must get downstairs quickly to walk the two dogs out to do their business... OK, I can see that, they've been cooped up over night and have urges just like the rest of us.

Now and again, they will have had an "accident," so by the time I come down an hour or two later, the cover to the dog bed has been stripped off and is either IN the wash already, or lying at the foot of the basement stairs for ME to wash (more than not, it's the latter scenario).

I come downstairs between 6 and 7... or whenever the spirit moves me to get up and start it all over again.

The dogs have been out once, had their pills and a cookie bone, and are nestled cosily on the sofa, or anywhere of their choosing.

I get my cuppa, and log on to chat with Sandy, until the dogs want out! That begins the routine.

They go out, and I try to wait at least til 8 a.m., but sometimes they are so persistent with their mental telepathy, that I cave in and make the trip down the stairs and out back to put them in their yard. Back up the stairs, and back to my now-cooling cuppa, and to tell Sandy, who is hanging there on-line, that I had to let the dogs out...

But she doesn't have to wait long before she gets an email saying "ooops, the dogs are barking, be right back" and down I go once more to let them back in, give them a little verbal scolding, such as, "you be QUI-et! You'll wake the whole neighborhood up!"

Yeah, right, as if they CARE?

Besides, by that point, most of the neighborhood is off to work already...

So they're in now, and full of IT! They want loves, scratchies, and, if possible, more cookie bones! They only get one official meal a day, at night, so I cave in constantly all day with the small cookies...that's why whitby is a chubette, like me!

They will settle down finally, and I'll say so long to Sandy, close up shop on the webtv, and go up to work on my computer.

The dogs will follow me up, and plop down on the small bed in that room for a nice snooze.

Then a truck will come up the street, and Jazzy, who is the truck-hater of the duo, will perk her ears right up, and moan a little, and then will fly down the stairs, barking to warn that truck out of her neighborhood! Aaaarrrf! Aarrf! Aarrf! Aarrf! Aarrf!

There! she says. That'll teach those trucks to come up here!

After Whitby has been woken up by all the noise and commotion, they both decide...hey, it's time to pee! They nudge me at my desk several times in a row, and I cave again, and go back down the two long flights of stairs out to the back yard with them once again, and put them in their yard.

I really should leave them out there all day, but we have a neighbor here who gets regular deliveries and those delivery trucks just rub Jazzy the wrong way! It must have all started when she was a puppy...I don't know, because she was 3 when she adopted us...

Anyway, I won't go into any more of the long sad details of the remainder of the day...but this scene happens maybe 10 more times - at least! - before I call it a day at work and have to leave for the office to deliver my typing.

When Paul is home alone with the dogs, he puts them out early, leaves them there, and brings them in at 5.

I have no idea what horror the neighborhood must go thru with all that barking during those days. But now that I am working at home, it's become my routine to do the up and down stairs a dozen or so times a day just for the dogs. Of course, that is not including all the other little chores that require a trip up or down!.

Gee...you'd think I'd be in some kind of physical shape by now?

Well, you'd be wrong.

(P.S. Even after all this trouble, though...I love those furry angels more than just about anything!!!)

3:08 pm - 23 March 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2