Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Love a Rainy Night

I LOVE A RAINY NIGHT

Somewhere in my wealth of old 33.3 rpm record collection (some of you out there may not remember vinyl records, but they were my generation's version of the DVD (I think!), there is an old favourite by Eddie Rabbit (or is it "Rabitt?" - anyone know?) called "I Love A Rainy Night", that just popped into my head as I sat here trying to decide what to call this page.

Outside Crow Cottage, it has been raining now for about 17 years, it seems, but really, maybe only 2 or 3 days. They promised it would clear up later today, and I'm holding them to it... you know, those weatherpersons who spend 15 minutes of the 30-minute long nightly news broadcasts running us through a tutorial of all things environmentally related, so that when they are done, we almost expect a pop quiz!

I degress....

I do love a rainy night. I'd much prefer a rainy night to a rainy day and, of course, we've had both at once lately...

Tonight is the last night I will cook in my current kitchen. I don't regret saying goodbye to the old set-up either. It is my firm belief that a "Kitchen Devil" makes him home in that room, judging from all the mishaps that have befallen me over the last 16 years here. I fully believe that, once we have ripped out everything in there, and installed all new floor, cabinets, sink, ceiling, countertops, windows, etc., that old Kitchen Devil will hit the road, maybe catch up with Saddam along the way, who knows? Just as long as he EXITS this house!

So for our last night with the old kitchen, we are entertaining, to a small degree. We don't entertain much, so this is a big day... you know, hoovering, dusting, polishing, rearranging things, preparing the 3 homemade pizza pies (my Specialty of the Cottage!), and I just made a batch of chocolate chip cookies for "afters."

I guess I'm almost ready. I still have to clean up the body, and before this little dinner party begins, we are, all four of us, going to our favourite small, very stylish and classy movie theater, The Cabot in Beverly, to see "The Quiet American" starring Michael Caine. That's at 5:30 p.m. (We geezers like the early show!), and then back here to assemble and cook the pizzas.

One of our guests, Bill, is a vegetarian. His mate, Maggie, is not. Neither are we, so I have to be sure to leave one whole pizza pie free of meat, which isn't too difficult as the only meat I ever use on pizzas is some sliced pepperoni - but lots of veggies. I even bought some brightly coloured peppers today at the market to spiff up the pizza - red, green, yellow and orange ones! Some black olives of course, oh! and I found some lovely sweet yellow onions and a big red onion to slice up, since we all love onions on our pizza pie -- it should be quite colorful! I use a mixture of shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses on top too, the cheddar gives it a bit of a different zip.

I think a green salad of romaine and baby spinach and English cuke might be nice, as well.

I've washed the dog-cover for the sofa, which is a must for us here, as the sofa is normally the seat of choice for the "girls"... they do leave lots and lots and lots (and LOTS) of furs on it, so when company comes, we need to do some major sprucing up in here.

Just looked out the sliding glass doors and the sky, although still overcast, and still leaking water, seems to be brightening up a bit... there is hope for a nice evening, and a good time seeing old friends we haven't seen for a long while.

Stay tuned at a later date for a review of the movie.

Back to work I go....

11:39 am - 12 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2