Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Proper End to the Year

A Proper End to the Year...

Our first real snow is falling at this very moment.

We had a hint of snow a few weeks ago, but I don't count that. It didnt' even cover the green grass out front. But this is different. It's not a blizzard, or anything scary like that, but just a gentle, quietly falling snow, making all the trees, gardens, porches, houses and streets appear totally white and winter-like. Now THIS is what living in New England is all about. If it had snowed a week or two ago like this, I might have had more Christmas spirit than I did.

Oh well.


Since you last were here, I bought a new computer. I really had to do it. My computer guy, John, said it was time. My old one is about 5 years old and it just isn't keeping up anymore. It does my work OK, but for other things, it's falling far behind the times.

I hate shopping at Best Buy, which is where I bought my old computer. So I went over to CompUSA and got an HP Pavilion desktop PC there, at a fairly reasonable price, judging from what I found on-line after I'd bought it. I think I saved about $100.

I am very frustrated though, not being able to hook it up right away. I am not a naturally patient person, and I want it working now! But I'll have to wait a week until my computer guy (John) can get here. I have some programs that have to be transferred from the old one to the new one, and I haven't a clue how to accomplish that task. Also, he is going to update my antivirus program which I can't seem to do by myself. He says it will only take a few minutes... well, we'll just see about that. Nothing ever goes smoothly for me, so I don't know why this job should.


I stayed up late last night (10:30 p.m.) watching and waiting for that ex-president of Iraq to meet his maker. It was frantic watching CNN and Fox News, back and forth, forth and back, all evening. But finally the word came down, he'd passed on to greener pastures, and thank the lord for that. We won't miss him. At least I won't miss him. Maybe some folks will, but very few I'll bet. I think keeping him locked up for 3 years before hanging him was smart, because he has basically faded from our recent memory for the most part. It's like he's been gone already for 3 years. Now I just wish we would get out of that country, and let them work things out their own way. Isn't this something like "nation-buiding" which is exactly what our current bunch in Washington said they were NOT going to do?


I've been doing my typing today. It's really my Tuesday work since Monday is a holiday, but I've gotten about half of it done so far. I did hook up my new keyboard (that's easy-peasy and even I can do that much by myself). It's a little different from the one I'm used to. It's silver, instead of black, which I like. But it doesn't have a built-in wrist-rest, which I don't like. I do have one of those squishy, foam-rubbery wrist-rests but it's quite old and large, and feels a bit much under my hands. I need a bit of support since I sit there typing for usually 6 hours a day all at once, with very few breaks, and my wrists have been known to really hurt at times. I've been using some wireless keyboards lately which were very, very flat and lay quite flat on the desk, so a wrist-rest wasn't really necessary. But those wireless keyboards were going to be the death of me, and would stop working now and then (and yes, I put new batteries in, but even then, they would give me fits), so I finally just went back to my old faithful Microsoft wired keyboard, which isn't such a nice easy touch as the wireless kind was, but it's more reliable. Trouble is that I type so much, I constantly am wearing off the white letters/numbers on the keys, and even though I type without looking, I still like to have those letters down there for when I have to position my hands over the home row of keys. I can almost not feel that little nubby thing they put on the "J" and the "F" anymore... I probably have worn that down too.

All the keyboards in the office hardly have ANY letters left on them!


I suspect the plows will be out soon, spraying all that horrid street salt and chemicals all over the roads. So far it's all just natural snow, with no footprints or tire marks, except where the dogs went out the front door, down the porch stairs and across the lawn to do their business. Whitby didn't want to come in when I called her, either, and it reminded me so much of when I was a kid, and we used to play outside in the snow from morning til night, only coming in when my Mom had called us at least three or four times and was sounding aggravated. Then it was time to come in. I think Whitby was thinking the same thing today. She's a collie with a big fluffy rough coat on her, and she really loves the snow!

So this year is going out in style. A new computer, some snow falling gently from the sky, and a new year about to bloom. Enjoy it if you can.

Cheers,

Bex

3:17 pm - 30 December 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2